Flucht in die Hügel

Live Local, Liebe Rockhill

Auf in die Berge ...

Wenn Sie die Crieve-Straße verlassen und am alten Sportplatz vorbei (der heute unser Polytunnel ist - Teil unserer Nachhaltigkeitspläne ), wird Ihnen vergeben, dass Sie viel weiter von Letterkenny entfernt sind als Sie.

Wenn Sie

Wenn Sie sich durch die 100 Hektar großen Wälder bewegen, werden Sie eine Welt abseits des Trubels der Stadt spüren, die Sie im Tal unten sehen können.

Wenn Sie

Wenn Sie

Hast Du gewusst..?

Das Church Restaurant, die Bar und die Café Bar haben ihren Namen von den Tagen der irischen Verteidigungskräfte auf dem Anwesen - sie dienen sowohl als Bar als auch als Kirche.

Obwohl seine Verwendung seine zentrale Rolle in unserer Gemeinde nicht verändert hat, bleibt es ein Zuhause für die Geschichten der Armeezeit, Geschichten von vor langer Zeit und jene viel neueren - alle werden je nach Erzähler etwas anders erzählt, aber es lohnt sich immer, die Zeit stehen zu lassen noch zu genießen!

Pond side flowers at The Church Restaurant, Bar and Café

Offenheit und Leichtigkeit

birdsong at the church rockhill

Halten Sie auf Ihrem Weg die gewundene Allee hinauf Ausschau nach unserem wilden Albino-Hühnerfasan, der manchmal auf dem Weg vom Bach zur Wiese entdeckt wird.

Die zwei geschnitzten Steinhunde, die Sie begrüßen, wenn Sie sich dem Parkplatz nähern, sind zu Ehren aller treuen Begleiter der irischen Verteidigungsstreitkräfte während ihrer Zeit auf dem Gelände - bis zu fünf Mal (zumindest nach Angaben einiger unserer örtlichen Stammgäste). .

Heute gibt es einen, unseren ansässigen irischen Wolfshund Liath.

Bevor Sie hineingehen, genießen Sie den Blick über das Tal und werfen Sie einen Blick über die Parkplatzhecke auf den alten Hubschrauberlandeplatz und die Metallmunitionsvorräte, die auf den Baumresten sitzen, unter denen die "Jungen" mit einer hinterhältigen Zigarette Schutz suchen, wenn der "Aul-Junge" "schaute nicht.

Wenn Sie

Möchten Sie draußen bleiben und die frische Brise am Hang genießen, während Sie über Letterkenny blicken ?  

Wenn Sie

Kein Problem, lassen Sie es uns einfach wissen und genießen Sie unsere Sitzgelegenheiten im Freien.

Wenn Sie

An kühleren Tagen können Sie immer noch die frische Luft und das Vogelgezwitscher von unserer voll beheizten Terrasse mit Glaswänden mit Blick auf unseren Teich mit seinem Pizzaofen und dem beeindruckenden Kupferkamin genießen.

Wenn Sie

Gleich hinter unserem Teich- und Moorgarten befindet sich der ummauerte Garten. Obwohl der ummauerte Garten derzeit wegen Restaurierungsarbeiten geschlossen ist, wird er bald wieder Besucher willkommen heißen und zusätzlich zu unserem Polytunnel am Straßenrand unsere Küche in der Kirche versorgen.

Wenn Sie

Escape to the hills

Live Local, Love Rockhill

Take to the hills...

Turning off the Crieve road and past the old sports field (now home to our polytunnel - part of our sustainability plans) you'd be forgiven for thinking you are much further from Letterkenny than you are.

In fact, as you move through the 100-acre woodland you will feel a world apart from the buzz of the town you can catch glimpses of in the valley below.

Did you know..?

The Church Restaurant, Bar and Café Bar takes its name from the days Irish Defence Forces time on the Estate - serving as both a bar and church. 

Though its use has changed its central role in our community has not, remaining a home for the stories of the army times, tales from long before and those much more recent - all told a little differently depending on the teller but always worth letting time stand still to enjoy!

Openness and ease

birdsong at the church rockhill

As you make your way up the meandering avenue keep a lookout for our wild albino hen pheasant who is sometimes spotted making her way from the stream to the meadow. 

 

The two carved stone dogs that greet you as you approach the carpark are in honour of all of the loyal companions of Irish Defence force during their time on the site  - as many as 5 at times (at least according to some of our local regulars).

Today there is one, our resident Irish Wolfhound, Liath.

Before you head inside, enjoy the view across the valley and have a look over the carpark hedge at the old helipad and the metal munition stores sitting on the remnants of trees the "boys" would shelter under with a sneaky cigarette when the "aul boy" wasn't looking.

Want to stay outside and enjoy the fresh, hillside breeze while looking across Letterkenny? 

No problem, just let us know and enjoy our outdoor seating.

On chillier days you can still enjoy the fresh air and birdsong from our fully heated, glass-walled terrace overlooking our pond with its pizza oven and impressive copper fireplace.

Just beyond our pond and bog garden is the lost walled garden. Though currently closed for restoration, the walled garden will soon welcome back visitors and will, in addition to our roadside polytunnel, supply our kitchen at The Church.

#livelocalloverockhill

Join our list for updates and special offers. 

We only email when we have something especially delicious for you.

TEL. +353 (0) 749113638

 

The Church Restaurant, Bar and Café,

Rockhill House Estate,

Rockhill,

Letterkenny,

Co. Donegal,

F92 EC5H

Contact Us: reservations@thechurchrockhill.com

Quick Links
Home
At Home Menu
Afternoon Tea for Two At Home
Kid's Celebration Box
Order Online
Gift Cards

The Church  - Restaurant, Bar and Café, Letterkenny

Enjoy a true taste of Donegal and of the North West Of Ireland at The Church, located on the Rockhill House Estate overlooking Letterkenny. Experience the colours, textures, aromas and tastes that makes Donegal one of the coolest places on the planet. The Church at Home lets you takeaway a taste of our Spirit of Place with contactless collection or contactless delivery.

©2021 The Church, Rockhill House Estate